A Tale of Woe (repeat)

My brother had a cat named Fluff. Fluff was definitely the family cat and roamed the house at will. When the news came that my brother’s in-laws were coming to visit with the admonition that his mother-in-law was deathly allergic to cat hair, a decision was made to put Fluff in an animal motel. Five days later, when my brother went to pick up Fluff, he found a cat who had changed. I wrote this ballad in response to this story and entitled it:

“My In-Laws Made an Outlaw out of Me”

My life though blessed with loving care Began to spin ar(eow)nd. When Joe and Mary Lou, my in-laws, Aimed to come to t(eow)n.

Her nose is plagued with allergies, She says cat hair’s the curse; But when I’m told to shed no hair It makes me shed it worse!

(Chorus) My in-laws made an out-law out of me, They put me in the clink without a key; It hurt me, so I sing this melody, My in-laws made an outlaw out of me.

My owner said, “Fluff, you must stay Down at the kitty p(eow)nd,” He packed my bags, gave me a pat, My life flipped upside d(eow)n.

The other cats were mean as sin, And treated me real rough; For five days I was hardened, I emerged as “Flo, the Tough.”

(Chorus)

So when they came to take me home, I treated them aloof, And as they tried to scratch my head, I swigged on 100 proof.

I guess I will forgive them soon, They didn’t mean to hurt me; And I will be a purrrfect cat, If they don’t re-desert me

(Chorus)

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tale of Woe (repeat)

  1. Tom says:

    I really enjoyed this one. No cats here, but it does bring back memories of when we’ve boarded our dogs (a rare occurrence).

Leave a Reply

