3-D

The last movie I went to see in a movie theater was “Avatar,” and I went to see it because it was being shown in 3-D. Now, I have had a running argument with many of my friends who disagree with my idea regarding things that appear to be in 3-D. When someone goes to a movie in 3-D, they don special glasses which allows the 3-D experience as the thrill that it is. Of course, there are many gimmicks in most of these movies to present the viewer with a real jolt such as when something flies into your face. My theory is that it requires two eyes in order to see something in 3-D. I just looked at a picture of Bryce Canyon National Park on my computer screen. It is a beautiful picture with all sorts of color and natural beauty. However, it is not in 3-D. But, if I were there actually looking at this scene, it would be in 3-D so long as I viewed the scene with both eyes. If I closed one eye, I would still be able to perceive depth but could not really see the depth that I would see with both eyes. I will be eager to see what reaction I get from my readers as, so far, I have never won this argument. Leave me a comment if you have an opinion.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3-D

  1. Tom says:

    3-D movies are shot with a double lens camera…..as are 3-D still cameras (I have one). Remember the antique ‘stereoscope’ viewers? Yep, 2 images. Soooo, yes, you need 2 eyes to fully realize 3-D affects. End of 3-D science lesson…..

Leave a Reply

