Reconciliation

Although I was not the greatest math student, I became more confident that I could handle numbers when I was assigned to teach a 10th grade class of basic math. Whereas most of my teaching had been in the English composition and literature areas, math was quite different–the answers were definite, not subjective like “What is the theme in Macbeth?” One of the places in my life where I must deal with numbers occurs each month when I reconcile my bank account. I look forward to the first of the month when the statement appears on my computer. I print out a copy and begin first with the savings account (.11 cents in dividends), next money market ($1.19) and finally my checking. My Quicken program certainly helps with the job of balancing and reconciling, and most of the time it is reconciled at first try. However, every once in a while I find that I have forgotten to enter an item, and I am frustrated until it reads 0.00 difference. That’s a mighty good feeling. Thanks, math teachers.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reconciliation

  1. arcadian48 says:

    someone is obviously very easily entertained!!!

  2. Jess Roberts says:

    I too watch my declining bank balance very carefully through the month. The fact that
    I am so clear on controlling my money tells me that I am not heading into Alzheimers.

Leave a Reply

