My Dream House

Do you remember looking for your dream home? I did just that after I found myself a divorcee, seeking to be able to stop renting and to buy a home or a condo of my own. I had checked out many places before I found the ideal condo which seemed within my purchasing power. It had two bedrooms, two baths, a one-car garage. It was a tri-level with a loft on the upper floor. It had a balcony out from the master bedroom and a porch off of the living room. A brass rail plus a rise separated the living room from the dining area. The washer and dryer were included and were in a room that had both air and heat and was large enough to serve as a workroom. There were two skylights in the living room, mirrored closets, and a dressing area in the master bathroom. The main feature that captured my imagination was a clothes drop from the top floor down to the laundry workroom. What more could I ask? Well, thank goodness I did ask as I found that a friend of mine had a friend who already lived there. When I contacted the couple, I learned that there was no guest parking, the building was frame construction rather than concrete block, and each occupant was going to have to come up with $2000.00 for their share in roof repairs. That disappointment in the summer of 1989 lead me to seek out a builder who built the true home of my dreams later that same year, and that’s where I have lived ever since.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Dream House

  1. Jess Roberts says:

    Learning how to post a comment on your blog.

Leave a Reply

