Friends at the Golden Bear

I had left my wife and home and was unsure how friends would react to my being alone. We had cultivated many friends during our twenty-plus year marriage, some of whom indicated they would remain friends and others who had decided to side with my wife. It was with some trepidation that I invited my buddy Dan Lawrence to meet me for breakfast at the Golden Bear restaurant. Dan and his wife Glenda had been among our good church friends. The meeting turned out to be very enjoyable–not just the eggs and grits but also the conversation. When we were getting ready to leave, I said, “I’ve really enjoyed this time together. We must do it again.” Dan responded, “Would you mind if Glenda joined us next time?” And that began the renewal of a friendship that has lasted many, many years. We still meet at least once or twice a month at the Golden Bear restaurant except that now we are four again.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friends at the Golden Bear

  1. Dimitris says:

    I really like to be the 4 person. And we found out in Feb. that Golden Bear is a Greek restaurant.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Best Wishes from your pal in Greenville.

Leave a Reply

