Shut Up and Read

I go to the Y every other day to ride the bike and give my knee replacement legs exercise. I can’t say that I look forward to the exercise, but I make myself go, knowing that continuing to exercise will provide me with improvement in my ability to walk in the future. I always take a paperback book with me as I can read and pump the pedals at the same time, passing the 37 minutes (35 minutes followed by a 2 minute slow-down). This morning, when I sat down and set my parameters for pedaling, I had just opened my book when the guy next to me said, “Pardon me, but may I interrupt your reading for just a few minutes?” I immediately closed the book and responded with a “sure, you may.” From that beginning, we talked for twenty minutes about life. I learned that he too is a retired educator, has the same health insurance I have, deals with the same pesky robo calls from the JSA medical group that I have, all in twenty minutes. I was grateful that Jackson asked me to delay my reading and involved me in friendly chatter. Too often, we put on our earphones or bury ourselves in a book rather than carry on a conversation with another human being. I would have missed out on a very enjoyable conversation.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

