Mame, in Drag

Many of the better local-theater plays I have seen since I came to live in Pinellas County have starred Matthew McGee. My theater-going for a long time took place at the Hudson Dinner Theater. The theater catered almost entirely to the senior population, served an excellent buffet meal, and put on top-notch plays. I remember seeing “Cabaret” there and being very much impressed with the professionalism of the cast. Matthew McGee was a frequent cast member and always wowed his audience. Two years ago, I ushered several times at the FreeFall Theater here in St. Petersburg. One of the evenings I worked at the Will Call window instead of ushering. My co-worker that evening was Matthew McGee. It was a thrill working beside someone I had admired so often on stage. Now, Matthew is once again on stage playing the part of Auntie Mame. I am giving Dimitris an evening at the theater on August 6th to see the amazing Mr. McGee in “Mame.”

mame

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

