Whether Reports

I have written many times about the weather. I am a confessed weather freak. I have an electronic rain gauge and thermometer. I watch weather radar like some people follow the stock market. I study clouds, I know what high and low pressure is, I rejoice when we have southeasterly winds, and I get excited in the summer when the rain chances are 50% or higher. However, I have learned that meteorology is a “maybe” science. Sometimes when rain chances are 100%, it doesn’t rain. Sometimes when the chances are only 10%, it rains…and rains hard. It is hard to know WHETHER to believe what the forecasters predict about the weather. On the 4th of July, my partner and I headed down to Mahaffey auditorium to watch the fireworks at the Pier. Just as we arrived, the rain began. We returned to the car and sat, hoping the rain would abate, and the fireworks would start. The rain continued, and the 9:00 start of the fireworks passed. We decided to make the best of a bad situation and to celebrate the heavy rainfall, which is always needed here in central Florida. However, when we got home fifteen minutes later, not one drop of rain had fallen, and the stars were visible.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

