Based on a True Story

I was listening to NPR on my car radio one afternoon recently and heard a discussion regarding the most successful movie genre. According to the commentator, based on research, it is serials such as “Terminator” and “Magic Mike,” both of which presently have follow-up movies at local theaters now. I am not so sure that I agree that making films in that genre is the best way to insure the success of a movie. Neither of these serials playing now would greatly interest me. My suggestion as a genre would be movies that are “based on a true story.” I know that indicates that they may be only loosely based if not solidly, but at least the viewer learns something about someone or something that lived and breathed. Dimitris and I recently watched “Big Eyes” and “The Theory of Everything,” both of which are based on real live people, and both were movies deserving of praise. Who am I to advise movie-makers on what kind of films to make, but I surely would like to nudge them toward the “true story” corner.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

