Staying Alive

Three or four years ago, my cardiologist suggested that I join a gym and get some exercise. I could not think of anything I would less rather do, but I had had a heart problem which required stints and, since my insurance would pay for it, I joined the Lifestyles gym. Eventually that led to my entry into a Silver Sneakers class, coach-lead exercise activities that I actually enjoyed. Now, years later, I am still exercising but only on the bike. After a second knee replacement surgery, I have been unable to handle the rigorous exercises done in Silver Sneakers. So, riding the bike is the compromise. I go to the Y every other day, take with me my trusty paperback which I read while pumping the bike. I ride with 13 pounds of pressure for 35 minutes before I kick into “cool down” for two minutes. The knees are still rebelling, but I’m determined my leg strength is going to return and keep me up and moving. Meanwhile, the exercise keeps my heart beating and my high blood pressure in check.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

