Mustard Seed Faith

When I was growing up, my parents urged my brother and me to study the Bible and to live by its principles. Much of the Bible was over my head but, as Mark Twain said, “It ain’t those parts of the Bible that I can’t understand that bother me, it is the parts that I do understand.” And one of the parts that I did understand that amazed me was the idea that we did not need an enormous faith but only faith the size of a mustard seed. That teaching encouraged me and became even more realistic when I attended a youth group where the leader was talking about the “mustard seed” faith. In order to impress the group, the group leader carefully handed to each person a tiny mustard seed. It was indeed small and should have reinforced my belief that I could be the person of faith that I wanted to be. However, before the group leader had finished the discussion, my mustard seed had rolled out of my hand and embedded itself in the cushion of the chair on which I was sitting. I hope I did not let the loss of that mustard seed retard my faith-building ability.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

