My “Letter of the Law” Faith

I grew up believing that I must follow the letter of the law: the ten commandments plus every other “commandment” commanded by my Southern Baptist denomination. My faith, though it appeared outwardly outstanding, was inwardly superficial. The superficiality came mostly from the lies I told myself. I obeyed the rules, but I was not happy. Although I knew that I had always been more curious about the male anatomy than the female, I believed with all my heart that I could be fulfilled as a happily married man. After all, I had a wonderful wife and three beautiful children. At age 54, I accepted myself as a gay man, moved out of my house, and wondered what would become of me. I am happy to say at age 77 that I didn’t fall into a life of immorality, but I learned more and more that Jesus came to fulfill the spirit of the law and not so much the letter of the law which I had practiced more than anything else. I was a rule keeper who hated the rules. Today, I am sure of my eternal life and am so happy in my relationship with Dimitris, my wonderful companion. Our faith is intact and based on the knowledge found in John 3: 16: “For God so loved Thom and Dimitris that he gave His only begotten son.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

