Basket Case

The first time that Dimitris Tsitsiras ever came to visit me here I bought a hanging basket of vincas to welcome him on his arrival. It was an awesomely beautiful plant and even had several other varieties of flowers mixed in that complimented the vincas. The color of the large blooms was a cross between purple and red:
vinca-mediterranean-dark-red-annual-flower-seedsUnfortunately, when I was away and unable to feed and water my hanging vincas, they died…or at least I thought they had died until one day I saw a small green plant emerging from the “wreckage.” I nursed it, and sure enough, the hanging plant, which I had named “Dimitris,” began once again to prosper. “Dimitris” is now growing larger day by day as I carefully nurture it. On the way to the gym for my exercising, I noticed that someone has planted tiny red vincas at the entrance to the building. What a great idea, I thought. Today, I purchased two red vinca potted plants ($1.19 each) and planted them in hanging baskets on either side of “Dimitris.” They are a different color than the other vincas:

Vinca, Cora Red, Single bloom

All three plants will hang from the eastern side of my front porch where they will garner oohs and ahs not only from Dimitris and me but from anyone who visits our home.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

