“Lizardry”

Lately we have been deluged with lizards that have evidently darted into the house when the door was opened. They have been spotted both large and small–even tiny, making us wonder whether or not some have actually birthed inside the house. They cause no particular problems except that we know their deaths are imminent if they don’t get back outside. The pest control man comes every other month. I learned years ago that the lizards can be “rescued” if you can get them inside a box. They will not then jump out but can be thumped out once you have them outside. This morning, as I came inside, having done my morning inspection of the flowers in the front yard, I happened to notice a tiny lizard inside the house at the door. Fortunately, there was a sheet of paper on the piano by the door so I picked it up, slid it under the lizard and hefted him out the door onto the front porch. I felt like a hero despite the diminutive size of the lizard. I bragged to my partner of my feat as we together observed the large lizard on the wall in the bedroom. He had been there for days. When I explained to Dimitris how I had gotten the tiny lizard out the door, he immediately went for a shoe box, placed it next to the wall-clinging lizard who jumped onto the box. Dimitris then walked slowly to the front door, opened the door, and thumped the lizard onto the porch. I immediately realized that his lizard was much larger than mine. Therefore, he deserved much greater hero status than I. Well, at least it’s nice to know that the lizard community is two lizards safer than they were a day ago due to the courage of Dimitris and me.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

