The Urge to Purge

Dimitris and I have been living together for more than a year now, and we have become more and more familiar with each other’s characteristics. He is “Mr. Meticulous”; I am “Mr. Procrastinator.” Notice that his nickname is a positive while mine is not so positive. He is a house cleaner and does such a good job that we recently let the cleaning lady, who has been cleaning my house once a month for years, retire. He immediately went out and bought a mop and wringer. I got a taste of what’s to come yesterday from my new cleaning person when he asked, “What’s in these containers under the bed?” I replied, “VHS tapes.” “Can we get rid of them?” he asked. “Yes,” I replied and looked at the three large containers of tapes that had been under the bed for years. I began sorting through the tapes, most of which were programs and movies recorded off the TV. We loaded those self-taped programs into the recycle bin. The bought tapes, we donated to the library. Dimitris also mentioned yesterday that we need to get rid of some towels. There are too many. When he gets the urge to purge, I say okay. After all, this home is no longer a bachelor pad.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Urge to Purge

  1. Dimitris says:

    We must put this place in order…..and create spaces. Mr Meticulous

Leave a Reply

