A World of Learning

I love to read. When I was teaching, I only had time to read what I was teaching. Since my retirement, I have read every type book there is to read, both fiction and non-fiction. What is the best book I’ve ever read? Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell is by far the best. It is one of only a few books that I have read more than once. Another was The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. I reread it to prove that it was as good as I thought it was. I loved the biography of Harry S. Truman, simply named Truman by David McCullough. It was so well-written that I used excerpts from it as examples of good writing in my college composition classes. Another artfully written book was Luncheon of the Boating Party by Susan Vreeland. I read slowly, and I read every word. I generally keep two books going at a time: a hardback from the library and a paperback from my own library (I read the paperback while exercising at the gym). When possible, I check out large print books from the library, but I can still read the regular print in the paperbacks. Reading is learning, and I love to learn.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A World of Learning

  1. Rans Halwa says:

    mmmmm good example u have given. i give some valuable readings to u. please mail me soon.
    hgransi@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

