Don’t Smile

Last week, I went to get two passport photographs at AAA since I am a member and free photos are one of the fringe benefits. I am a smiler. When I was teaching high school, my students frequently complimented me on my greeting them with a smile every day . One of the guidance counselors  once told me that she put Asian students in my classes as “they might as well see someone with a smile since they can’t understand the language.” I promised myself, when I went into the teaching profession, that regardless of how I felt, my students would see a pleasant person each day. When I was sitting, ready to have my picture taken, the AAA photographer surprised me by saying, “Don’t smile.” Taken aback, I asked why. She said that official photographs such as those for a passport require that the person being photographed not smile. I obeyed and have a passport photograph that is not a very good likeness of me. I need to smile. I am a smiling person.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t Smile

  1. Anonymous says:

    Haha! I understand! When I got my latest passport picture I had a smile in my face until the photographer said sternly, “Don’t smile”. I was surprised and taken aback by his comment and immediately stopped smiling and started to frown when “click” he took the picture. It is a horrible picture!!!! And I have to live with it for another 10 years! Ugh. Hopefully, homeland security will realize we Americans need to smile!! 🙂 and Mr. Cooper, keep smiling you have a beautiful, heart warming smile!!

Leave a Reply

