Mother’s Day

I lost my mother to cancer in 1956. I remember being required to wear a white carnation to church the first Mother’s Day after she died. That was a southern tradition that I hope has since died away. I can therefore not celebrate Mother’s Day with my own mother. However, there are four mothers in my family whom I salute highly. The first is Helen Cooper, mother of our three children: Boh, Todd and Robin. I also salute Jeri, the mother of Luke, my only grandson; Emma, the mother of Carli, my younger granddaughter; and Robin, the mother of Gracey, my first grandchild. All four mothers are deserving of medals for raising children in this day and age. To each of them, I give my highest praise and gratefulness. To all mothers who hang in there and deal with the challenges of raising children, I salute you. May God continues to bless your efforts. Happy Mother’s Day.

Roses

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother’s Day

  1. Anonymous says:

    As a child, I remember the carnation tradition…..and I grew up in Ohio, not even southern Ohio!

Leave a Reply

