What’s-His-Name?

With my memory in storage somewhere, I find myself reaching out not only for names but sometimes just words. No matter how familiar I am with a movie star, when I try to claim that name in order to communicate with someone, it often is not there. It appears only when I stop trying to bring it to the forefront of my mind. I would be alarmed were I not hearing the same thing from my close-aged friends. I’m fairly safe from Alzheimer’s since none of my family have been victims of that horrible disease. I think it is safe to say that I am experiencing age (77) when memory becomes less active. I use an electronic program to remember daily commitments, and I’m good at checking that program. I remember birthdays, I remember anniversaries; I just don’t remember names. My Silver Sneakers gym teacher pushes working crossword puzzles and other word games in order to keep our minds active. My main diversion game is Spider Solitaire. It definitely requires brain power and strategy. The next time I bump into you and say, “Hello, Bud,” that probably means I can’t bring your name to mind at the moment. Please don’t hold it against me (smile).

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s-His-Name?

  1. Patricia Norman Huffstetler says:

    Have you trued Sudoku?? Crosswords with numbers. I find this a real challenge in addition to crossword puzzles. Of course, I love numbers anyway.

    • bobosbest says:

      No, I haven’t. I have purposely avoided it, as between crossword puzzles, Spider Solitaire, and writing my blogs, I have enough to keep me mentally alert, I hope

Leave a Reply

