The Falling Magnolia Leaves

In west-central Florida, April is the month for falling magnolia leaves. If you haven’t seen a magnolia leaf, it is huge and almost indestructible. They are definitely not a leaf that, when it falls, makes the lawn attractive. I have taken as a form of exercise removing as many of these leaves as I can. The smaller, non-magnolia leaves, can be picked up by spearing several of them at a time with a screwdriver and putting them into a container. I can sit in a chair while picking them up. What I wish I had for the larger magnolia leaves is a pole with a spear on the end like the ones I’ve seen being used by clean-up committees so that I could walk and spear the big leaves before putting them into something disposable. I have checked several outlets: Home Depot and Amazon. There are many implements with a sort of handle on the end to pick up items, but nothing like a handle with an ice pick on the end. If anyone in my reading audience has an idea, please let me know. Meanwhile, it is April in west-central Florida and the magnolia leaves continue to fall.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Falling Magnolia Leaves

  1. arcadian48 says:

    but at least as of last night you aren’t battling those mean old leaves all by yourself, right?

  2. Patricia Norman Huffstetler says:

    Guys love duct tape. Find a pole of suitable length and attach an ice pick to it with duct tape.

Leave a Reply

