Universal Courtesy

While in Athens with my partner, I rode city buses many times. I learned that it was all but impossible for me to get on and off buses without using the cane for balance. Frequently, the bus was crowded–standing room only. Always I was offered a seat by someone already seated. Frequently, these caring individuals were young people. I’ve not yet had the need to travel by bus in St. Petersburg, but I would certainly hope I would be offered a seat. I’m counting on this kind of hospitality being universal. If not, my hat’s off to the youth of Athens, Greece.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Universal Courtesy

  1. Anonymous says:

    From what I understand, if you ride a bus in St. Petersburg you won’t have a problem finding an open seat. Ridership here is not like other big cities.

Leave a Reply

