The Fall

On March 22nd, I observed my second month following my knee replacement surgery. Our plans were, after arriving in Athens and re-connecting with Dimitris’ family, to make a side trip to Dubai. After arriving there, I had been as careful as possible, walking with my cane only when there was no alternative to getting somewhere. We decided to take a double-deck bus tour of the area and had arrived at a drop-off site for taking pictures of the Burj Al Arab, the iconic hotel that is in the shape of an Arabian sailing vessel. Dimitris hurried to get off the bus for picture-taking and motioned for me to follow. When I approached the step-down from the bus, I realized that it was steep. As I touched my cane to the ground, I lost my balance and fell. Fortunately, I fell into a sandy area or I could have hurt myself badly. It took that fall to make me realize that exiting busses must be a slow and deliberate process no matter how beautiful the scenery. This is a picture of me taken by Dimitris just after the fall.

Me, after the fall with the Burj Al Arab

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Fall

  1. Anonymous says:

    Delighted to hear of your vacation and sorry to hear of your fall. I have been visiting grandkids in CA and trying to stay active with them daily as they are five and seven. We hike in the foothills, on Pacific beaches, downtown or swim at the public heated pool each and every day.. My new knee is working beautifully, I must step aside and let others go ahead. This is a lesson for me as well! I must watch each and every step. It only takes one bad decision and wham. Good luck and happy traveling.

Leave a Reply

