My Mis-Happy Birthday Eve

On the eve of my 77th birthday, my partner and I closed the room curtains carefully and headed to bed at 10:00, promising to have a good night’s sleep. The sound that awoke us both was electronic and, to me, it was the alarm clock indicating that the night was over, and it was time to wake up. When he asked how I had slept, I felt even more certain that it was indeed morning after a full night of sleep. My final confirmation of this “fact” occurred when he began to sing “Happy Birthday.” However, when I glanced over at the clock and saw that the time was midnight, I realized that the electronic noise had been an incoming text message and not the alarm clock. My inner time clock never recovered, and I spent a sleepless rest of the night before my birthday. I’m happy to say that the remainder of my birthday was excellent with dinner at a very nice Italian restaurant at the Madina Jumeirah resort in the city of Dubai.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

