Watching the Digits

I have a friend who, like me, is a frustrated meteorologist. He lives in Seminole; I live in St. Petersburg. When there is a storm coming, we communicate and pray that the squall line doesn’t weaken as it approaches the coast. I watch his area to see when he’s experiencing exciting weather, and he does the same regarding my area. After the rains, we communicate just how much rainfall we each have received. Both of us have weather stations that indicate not only the rainfall but also the indoor/outdoor temperatures. Today is a chilly day in the Tampa Bay area so I have been checking the outdoor temperature periodically, hoping this Florida sun will pierce the Siberian cold and warm us up. Calling my friend, I wanted to check to see if it was colder or warmer in Seminole than it was here. We each sat beside our weather stations and talked about the similarities and differences. While we were talking, his outdoor temperature vacillated between 50.3 and 48.7. Mine was pretty steady until it dropped from 50.9 to 50.7. When we ended the call, we were only .1 apart. What a joy it was to hear from my friend and to compare digital temperatures with him.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

