The Bracelet

When I went into the hospital to have my knee replacement surgery, I was told that I should leave behind all jewelry. I am not a jewelry person and wear only one piece of jewelry, a very thin gold bracelet. When I started wearing the bracelet years ago, I took off my watch and have not worn a watch since then. When Dimitris unhooked the bracelet I warned him that it is very difficult to re-latch it. I was in the hospital over two weeks and checked once with my partner to insure that the bracelet was in a safe place. Finally, I was released from rehab, and I came home. I didn’t even think of the bracelet the first couple of days but, after a shower one morning, I asked where the bracelet was. Dimitris brought it over and tried his best to re-attach and lock the safety lock. He gave up quickly, and we agreed that we would “hire” the first lady who walked in the door to restore my bracelet securely to my left arm. That turned out to be Brandy Bitar, my housekeeper. Brandy took the bracelet, looked at it for a few seconds, snapped it right into place without any effort at all. There are indeed things that women can do that men cannot.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

