You Oughta Be In Pictures

I remember when I was growing up, I had a little Kodak Brownie automatic camera that I got for Christmas. I have very few pictures from that era as it was awkward getting the roll of film into the camera, and it was difficult taking all the pictures you had to take in order to finish a roll of film for processing. Next was the wait for the processed pictures to be returned. I was in college when my Uncle Jerry gave me a Polaroid camera. Wow! Instant pictures. However, there were drawbacks such as the price of film and the quality of the pictures. Then as an adult, I discovered the Sony Mavica cameras that used floppy discs as film. Now, we were getting somewhere. When I visited Amsterdam in the Netherlands, I carried a case of floppies with me everywhere I went and then transferred the pictures to my computer. A few years ago, a good friend gave me my Casio Exilim with 7.2 mega pixels. That is the camera that made me a photographer. The camera is tiny but takes excellent pictures. I take it everywhere and am teased about taking pictures when no one else brings a camera to an event.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Oughta Be In Pictures

  1. arcadian48 says:

    you and me both Thom. I have a huge number of pictures in my computer. Basically I’ve documented my life from 2004 to present, when I started with my first digital camera.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I had a Kodak Brownie too, but mine wasn’t “automatic”…….everything was manual, but it was all we knew back then. Still have many prints from it, although the colors are fading (like me, LOL)

Leave a Reply

