The Constipated Clock (repeat)

When I left my wife and moved out of the house, I left almost everything behind. One of the things that she offered me later was my Centurion chiming clock which I had bought with my CITGO credit card. She didn’t want the clock; it was too noisy. That clock is now many years old and still works like a charm. It requires winding only once monthly, and its chimes greet me each morning…well, most mornings. During the years that I had a roommate, I was asked if there was a way to mute the clock, which is possible as there is a mechanism for turning on/turning off the chimes. The only thing is that when the chimes are turned off, the clock, instead of chiming on the hour and half hour, makes a strained sound as though it might be constipated. Now that I’m living here with my partner, the chimes are on again. I never hear the clock during the night, but I hear it each morning as it chimes five times, the time I should rise. I never wear a watch which keeps me from becoming a clock watcher, but I depend greatly on my chiming clock, my no-longer constipated companion.

My clock

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

