Cold Everywhere, Even Here

I grew up hoping I would end up living in Florida where the sun shone most of the time. My goal was to escape from the dreary, chilly winters in South Carolina where I had grown up. The Navy provided me with that opportunity when I was stationed at the Naval Air Station, Pensacola, FL. I have now been in Florida since the 1960’s, and I am as satisfied with my home here as possible. Winters in west-central Florida can have some extreme cold, but usually only for a short time. Freezes are rare, and most winters arrive with no frost. However, every once in a while we have a winter that isn’t frigid but is chilly for weeks. That’s what we are experiencing this 2015 winter. The daytime temperature is having trouble reaching 70 degrees, and the night-time temperatures are in the 40’s and 50’s. I don’t handle those temperatures well and am longing for spring and warmth. Dimitris, on the other hand, relishes this coolness and calls it perfect. When I am cold, it is only water warmth that can warm me up. That means soaking in the tub. I can’t imagine why anyone would prefer living in the colder climes, but I’m glad they enjoy cold as Florida would have an even larger population. Darn that groundhog that saw his shadow on Groundhog Day.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cold Everywhere, Even Here

  1. germelman says:

    I’ll let you know how Fairbanks is in a few weeks.

    • bobosbest says:

      Stay warm! Thanks for the comment.

      • germelman says:

        Spring has sprung in Fairbanks. Temperature hit 69 yesterday. I stay in a remote Native Athapaskan village called Galena on the mighty Yukon River, deep in Alaska’s Interior. I left Galena yesterday for the weekend in a four seater and the temperature was 45 F. Noah

  2. arcadian48 says:

    My friend, I obviously haven’t been here nearly as long as you have, but I definitely share your feelings about living here. My family doesn’t seem to mind Indiana winters so much, but I surely would. As long as I have control of my life, I would never go back to that. Even with this current not so great winter, life here is so very good. Friends like you and Dimitris make it even better.
    Bob

Leave a Reply

