Down but not Out (I’m Back!)

On January 22nd, I went to Northside Hospital to have a knee replacement. This was to be my second knee replacement. The right knee had been done in 2007. The recovery from that surgery went on and on as there were a series of complications: lack of a bed at the rehab center, failure to have the therapist authorized several times. This time, I am determined to heal, heal well, and heal quickly. The day after the surgery I began working on the CPM, a machine that turns the leg and pulls it back into a straight line. I also began walking–despite the pain. After four days, I was transferred to a rehab facility–Freedom Village. There I began working with both my occupational therapists and my physical therapists. They were all wonderful, caring professionals, and they made me fight for my healing and for it to be correct. How I cringed when Anne told me to put my leg on top of her leg and to press down as hard as I could–3 sets of 15! Today I was released from rehab, and now it is partner Dimitris’ turn to help insure that I do my exercises in order to heal correctly. Our goal is for me to be pain-free and walking by March 10th when we are scheduled to fly back to Greece.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Down but not Out (I’m Back!)

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Really happy to read this. My best always to you and Dimitris.

Leave a Reply

