Romance in the Open Air

I know many Europeans cities are famous for their sidewalk cafes, especially Paris. They are, in particular, romantic and attractive to young lovers. Even when I was a “young lover,” I was never excited by sidewalk cafes. They were always places for me where you shooed away flies, gnats, and mosquitoes. No, I have never been a fan of camping out either. I now have a problem with over-lighting which adds to my preferring to dine indoors with normal light and air conditioning. My partner and I just met two friends for dinner at a Thai restaurant here in St. Petersburg. When we spotted our friends, they were sitting at a table outside although the temperature was a bit on the chilly side. They asked if we minded dining on the sidewalk, and I didn’t disagree as I had worn a jacket (although I also had on a short-sleeve shirt). The meal, though delicious, was eaten with a brisk wind picking up behind my head. Before we left, the restaurant had put out heaters next to the diners in order to alleviate some of the chill. Since we had no reason to be romantic with Dennis and David, I would have much preferred a non-romantic indoor meal. At least we didn’t deal with flying bugs.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

