It’s Not Greek to Me

Dimitris, my partner, who was born and raised in Athens, Greece, is always looking for something Greek. Yes, I know, you recommend that I take him to Tarpon Springs, and I have. We found not only Greek speakers there but also a delicious Greek restaurant right on the water. Our lunch was at the Dimitris restaurant, which pleased Dimitris greatly. On our way up and down 49th Street, we have frequently passed a relatively new restaurant named Zeko’s. One Sunday afternoon when our Italian friend, Eido, was visiting, we decided to try out Zeko’s. When we stepped in the door, we realized that this restaurant was Greek in name only. There were two Greek dishes on the menu, if I remember correctly: a Greek salad and souvlaki. When we asked if the owner was Greek, the very attractive attendant behind the counter giggled “nope.” Eido ordered the Greek salad, I order fried shrimp, and Dimitris ordered Buffalo wings, not exactly what we had expected at a “Greek” restaurant. Although we were a little disappointed, our meals were tasty. My fried shrimp was the best I’ve had in quite a while and would have been exceptional if they had had cocktail sauce. Next time, we’ll go to Athenian Gardens.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

