Changing Times

Gay people in Florida are celebrating the change in the law on January 6, 2015, giving them the privilege of making the same commitment that heterosexuals have always been able to make as a married couple. Hopefully those who rushed to the altar to get married knew what they were doing. Many had been living together for years, unable to be married and unable to enjoy the privileges granted to married people. They probably were the first in line. My partner and I have attended a pre-marital seminar and a seminar elucidating the rights and challenges of being married as a same-sex couple. We have no immediate plans to be married but want to be sure that we understand what that commitment would entail  should we decide we wanted to make that commitment. I was in my dental office recently, getting my routine periodontal maintenance. My hygienist has a lesbian sister so we have talked frequently about me and my partner. Dr. O’Neal, my dentist, has done a lot of work on my teeth, and I regard him highly, not only as a dentist but as a wonderful man who provides much pro bono dental services for those in need. When he came in to check out my partials, he asked if I had been keeping up with the same-sex marriage news. I was surprised as he and I have never talked about my being gay. Therefore, his next remark almost took my breath away: “If you need a best man, I would certainly be willing to be there for you.” Times are changing.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changing Times

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Thom,
    I really appreciated getting to hear this story first hand yesterday. I am so happy for you and Dimitris. Truly.

    Bob

Leave a Reply

