Roaming and Reading

I am not a shopper; my partner definitely is. When we go shopping, I almost always become tired of shopping before he does. It doesn’t matter whether it’s in the Winn-Dixie or J. C. Penney’s, I just don’t like to shop. I want to go into a store intent on purchasing one or two items. I know what they are and where I am going to find them. Dimitris is a shopper by nature, and the amount of time he can spend shopping easily makes me a basket case. Even in the post office where he went only to have a letter weighed, he came out after nearly twenty minutes, and the post office was not busy. Recently, we decided to go to IKEA in Tampa. He has wanted to go over there and just explore. I knew that was a deadly thing for me to do so, planning ahead, I took with me the latest book I’ve been reading, The Monuments Men by Robert Edsel. After arriving at the cavernous store, I found a place to sit and read while Dimitris first of all sought a club membership after which he ambled about, learning the store. It was all so perfect. While he roamed, I read. When he finished, we had a delightful salmon meal. I paid. Now that’s what I call a perfect way to shop.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roaming and Reading

  1. Noah says:

    We both chuckled reading this and shop the same way at IKEA,

Leave a Reply

