Backing Up

Before my last computer crashed, I bragged and bragged about how diligently I had been preserving all of my files. I had a regular system of back-up that assured me that, should I lose my hard drive, I would be able to replace almost everything from either DVD’s or CD’s that I had used as back-up discs. Well, the inevitable did happen, but I didn’t panic as I had taken care of the matter for sure. When I had my new computer, I began to reload the folders that I had preserved–music, videos, my journals, my “important papers,” my receipts, my poetry, my addresses and phone numbers. Oh, I was so smart and bragged about my back-up system. Then, I ran into a problem I had not anticipated–some of my files had become corrupt. And I thought I had been so very safe. Still, I was able to save maybe 85% of my files, but I wanted them all. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to join Carbonite, a computer back-up system that costs only $59.00 per year and has unlimited storage. I feel much smarter now than I did when I was counting on DVD-RW’s and CD-RW’s for protecting my computer files. I refuse to be” corrupted” (smile).

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Backing Up

  1. Anonymous says:

    Carbonite has saved me through 2 computer crashes……welcome aboard!

Leave a Reply

