It Can’t Breathe

No, I’m not parodying the protesters that recently walked the streets demonstrating against police brutality. I’m quoting my desktop computer which began to shut itself down so frequently that I began to worry. Did I have a virus? Did the video card need to be updated? Were the fans not keeping the power train cool enough? There was a pattern–the shutdowns never happened at night but during the day. When I contacted my computer geek friend, Jim Scott, he suggested I take the side off and clean the fans. That advice necessitated my doing a search for “how to take the side off the computer power train.” The instructions were easy to follow and, with the help of my partner, we soon had the side off and were using his hair dryer to blow the dust that was clogging up the two fans. Noting that the dryer was not getting the dust under the fans, we began to work with Q-tips, digging out the dust. When we finished, we put the side back on, reconnected all the cables to the back, and turned on the computer. It was frightening how quiet it was, and it worked–no shutdowns. Thanks, Jim.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Can’t Breathe

  1. Noah says:

    Very helpful cleaning advice. Thank you my dear, Heliose!

    I once discovered that a drier heats better when you clean the vent from your house!
    I always love when one can fix an appliance at home without making a service call.

Leave a Reply

