I Hate War

I hate war. Nevertheless, even the Bible affirms that war is inevitable. The hand-to-hand fighting that occurred in the wars prior to the Vietnam war scares the daylights out of me. Although I am a veteran having served in the U. S. Navy for four years, I fortunately never had to go into battle to fight an enemy. Today’s war again terrorists is frightening in that the enemy doesn’t wear a uniform, doesn’t conform to any so-called rules of war, and doesn’t observe the code of military justice. One of the biggest criticisms of the United States is in regards to our use of drones, unmanned aircraft that seek out enemy targets and attack them. They are controlled remotely from far away, have been known to be quite effective, but also to cause “collateral damage,” death of non-targets, including women and children. While I abhor the idea that innocents are killed, I don’t narrow my abhorrence just to drones but would include any kind of bomb or explosive device that doesn’t kill just the target but those in proximity to the target. In my church, when asked how we overlook the Biblical admonition, “Thou Shalt Not Kill,” I was told that literally the translation should be “Thou Shalt Not Murder.” That makes wartime killing all right? I can’t really see whether I should be more concerned about being killed by a drone or by a bomb dropped from an airplane. I hate war.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

