Robo Thom

In 2007, I had knee replacement surgery on my right knee. The recovery was painful and long. I was living alone so had to depend on friends and a lady whom my long-term health coverage provided for several hours a day for two weeks. The physical therapy that followed the surgery was disrupted several times, partially because of the Thanksgiving holidays and partially due to my primary care physician who went on vacation and was not here to authorize the at-home visits by the therapist. It is now 2014, and my left knee is following in the steps of its “brother” on the right side. According to my orthopedic doctor, the right knee is bone-on-bone. His recommendation: cortisone and low dosage pain killers until I’m ready for surgery. Knowing that I want to return to Greece in March with my partner, I have made an appointment to see the doctor next week to learn what my options are time-wise. I hope to have the surgery no later than the first of the year. My partner has already suggested that, with two metal knees, I can easily handle the new nickname he will give me: Robo Thom.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

