Journalistic Longevity

In 1954, I wrote for the first time in a journal. It was a tiny one-year journal, but I squeezed a few words into it day after day. Of course, I am grateful to be alive, now living in the year 2014, sixty years since I first started writing the story of my life. In those sixty years, I wrote often though not every day. In fact, during the most tumultuous time of my life–the years when I separated from and eventually divorced my wife–I wrote only occasionally. Nevertheless, I have a priceless set of writings about my life and times. In my writings, I can read of my questioning my sexuality and then dealing with a family who were so greatly affected by my coming out as a gay man. At some point, I put aside the journals in which I had to write by hand every day and began journaling on the computer. After my retirement in 1994, I began typing up my journal writings and eventually finished transferring them to my computer. Now, I jot down things that happen all during the day and paste the daily writing into its spot each morning. I have no idea what will become of my journal. Perhaps it will only serve to keep me learning from my mistakes.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

