Cane and Able

I have finally given in and gotten a walking stick, better known medically as a cane. I requested the item when I met with my orthopedic doctor, and he honored my request by writing me out a prescription so that it would be paid for by my health insurance. I received the adjustable cane a couple of weeks ago and have intermittently been trying to use it. After learning of an option I hoped would delay knee replacement surgery, I returned to my doctor, thanked him for the cane, and reported to him that I thought a pogo stick would work better. I am gradually learning to use the cane as I have few alternatives other than the surgery. My practicing has taught me that leaning on the cane is demanding on my arms and results in more fatigue while walking. I think I’m finally beginning to get the feel of what is the best way to use the cane, and it is to push forward rather than pushing down. If I can remember to do that, I may just be able to put off that surgery until next May, which is when I would be prepared mentally and when I would have the proper recovery time available.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cane and Able

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Sorry that you have to use the cane, but glad you’re adjusting to it well.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Don’t hit me with your cane, but perhaps you might consider changing your travel plans….have your knee surgery now, recover, then be more able to enjoy traveling in the future. Just a thought…

Leave a Reply

