That I In Awesome Wonder…

I wrote the following passage in my journal on August 9, 1962. I think it bears repeating. I was then 24 years old:

There are many things around us each day that we take for granted — beautiful things that proclaim the true existence of God. The stars shining brightly in their ebony background, the tinted clouds at dawn and sunset, the wind turning the underside of the leaves upward, the fruit trees, vegetables, and all the other greenery that evolves from one tiny seed, the human life that is produced by the fusion of male and female. These things are what we take for granted daily, yet each is a miracle in itself that only one great omnipotent God could perform. If ever God permits earthlings to visit other planets, I feel certain that the astronauts will bring back the news that those not of this earth also worship a great Creator. We have strayed so far from the teachings of our ancestors that our beliefs and rituals have become so modernized. We worship our own 20th century God. I wonder if He understands. I wonder.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

