Heart of my Heart

I have only one heart, and I suppose I have given it quite a workout in these 76 years of my life so far. I had angioplasty eight years ago followed by a heart attack three years ago. I have four stents holding my arteries open and take four prescriptive pills plus a baby aspirin every day. Today I am scheduled to go in for a routine checkup with my cardiologist. I could not be less prepared. I almost never forget to take my medications but, if I do, never more than one day. However, last Sunday morning, when I refilled my weekly pill case, I somehow never removed it from the kitchen table after putting pills into the slots for each day. This morning, I awoke with a slight headache and took a cold and sinus tablet, something I hardly ever do as it elevates my blood pressure. After taking it, I glanced down at the sink where my pill holder usually resides–no pill holder. I had a sinking feeling then, realizing that I had not taken my pills yesterday. In fact, I had not taken any pills since last Saturday afternoon when I took the last pills in the pill container. That was three days ago. I will confess both misdeeds to my cardiologist this afternoon, hoping by taking my pills for today, they have done their job. I will also promise never to forget again.

Readers: I am off on another travel adventure for the next six weeks. I will write as often as possible but bear with me.

Thom Bobo Cooper

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

