Honk, Jr.

My daughter invited me and my partner to drive down to Naples, FL, so that we could watch my eight-year-old granddaughter, Gracey, perform in a play entitled “Honk, Jr.,” a musical based on the story of “The Ugly Duckling.” My eight-year-old Gracey was the youngest member of the cast but performed as professionally as did all the cast. I was amazed that a group of mostly teenagers could display such unadulterated talent and self-confidence. The “ugly duckling” was a chubby young fellow who, once he was “hatched,” never left his role and coached the audience into feeling sorry for him for his being “different.” The father, who was a neglectful husband until his wife had to leave and search for her missing “duckling,” was a diminutive Asian teenager who sang amazingly and never stopped acting. There was the sinister cat seeking out ducklings. She was beguiling while whining out her musical enticements. I was impressed that a group of young people could so ably win over an audience. Of course, most of us, I’m sure, were family members. Nevertheless, I have seen many Broadway musicals, some incredibly well-done, but others presented with lacklustre. This presentation was far beyond what this grandparent had expected from this little drama group in Naples.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

