Blue Horse

It seems that the entire time I was in elementary and high school, I was a collector. The items that I collected required only that I have a pair of scissors and patience. They came in different sizes, some rather large and others quite small. They all had a picture of a horse on them — not just a horse but a blue horse. They were different versions and configurations of a brand of lined paper used both in elementary and high school. The paper for elementary students was more widely spaced and indicated where the tops of letters should be if they were capital letters or lower case. The reason I disregarded any other brand of notebook paper was that this company offered rewards for collecting these blue horse emblems, found on all of their notebook paper items. I cut and cut, bound and bound, dreamed and dreamed about reaping my reward of a bicycle or a radio, both of which required thousands of these brand items. The last I remember, I had a large box of Blue Horse brands, bound according to size, and ready to be sent in for my reward. However, time for college came, I left, and the dream of my Blue Horse reward was superseded by the dream of a college education.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

