Angie Says

When my daughter Robin was in elementary school, her first grade teacher was Mrs. Otto. Before first grade, we had always been the dominating influence in her life. She was a mama’s girl, and Helen enjoyed that place of reverence. For some, the first grade can be very intimidating but not to Robin. She had been eager to go to school, sitting on her bed the night before her first day of class, looking at a book, and saying: “Read, read, read.” Mrs. Otto was actually the wife of one of my fellow teachers at Northeast High School. I knew that she and her husband were Christians and thanked God for the influence Anne Otto would have on my daughter. Sure enough, every day that Robin came in from school, she gave us the latest edicts that came from Mrs. Otto: “Mrs. Otto says that we must clean our plates, and “Mrs. Otto says we must say our prayers before going to sleep.” It was a little disappointing to know that our realm of influence had diminished some with the rise of Otto’ism. I am now experiencing a parallel with that experience as I just said to my partner: “Angie [my gym instructor] says that I should work crossword puzzles to keep my mind active.” Shades of Anne Otto. History repeats itself!

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

