A S.I.M.ple card? (rewrite)

I am not “with it” in this age of electronics. Yes, I have a cell phone. I’ve had it for years. It is a pre-paid TracFone that “lives” in the car all the time to be used only in emergencies. When I first got it, I typed up the phone number and pasted it on the back of the phone as I didn’t plan to use it enough to remember the number. I have used it only when I’ve had car trouble and at the airport when I want someone to let me know when they are ready to be picked up. The phone is now old and heavy, and I have been having trouble keeping the battery charged. I therefore decided to buy a new phone. Online, I found that the reconditioned phones are quite inexpensive so ordered a $9.99 Nokea phone. It arrived with the paraphernalia to put it together. One of the items was something called a SIM card. Now I suppose every young techy knows what a SIM card is, but I didn’t — never heard of one. However, I looked at the drawings (as I later told the tech–they were drawings, not pictures) and tried to figure out how to insert the SIM card under the battery. However, no matter how I inserted it, when I turned on the phone after charging it, I got “Please insert SIM card.” After a lengthy phone call to TracFone, I was told that I would be sent a new card. The only problem was that the lady tech with whom I was connected didn’t speak English well and sent the card to 50th Avenue instead of 15th. Thank goodness the delivery service called to verify my address when they couldn’t deliver it. However, after inserting the new card and being told that my minutes had been transferred and that my phone would be activated in as little as five minutes, it wasn’t. Nothing. Nada. My next call was to a lady with an even thicker accent who finally advised me (via her supervisor) that the new SIM card is not responding and that they must send me a new one, number 3. What happened to the good old days when you just picked up a phone and used it! Progress? I don’t think so.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

