It’s Your Turn

I am a divorced man. I have now lived over twenty years on my own. Before I left my wife and home, I worked, supported my family, and tried to be a good father. What I didn’t do was cook. Never. My wife did the cooking, and it was good, having garnered many culinary skills from her Italian ancestry. I still wish I could taste again the pizzas she made from scratch. They were awesome. However, our marriage did not last, and I ended up “baching” it and doing the best I could with food. I learned to make spaghetti with Pesto. I learned to make a meatloaf. I could boil wieners for a hotdog. I could make a Greek salad…and that’s about where it ended. Therefore, I was always most grateful when someone would invite me to their home to eat. Home food! Wow! However, that presents a problem that I have for years had trouble dealing with–repayment. I have tried taking friends out, bringing them a bottle of wine, but I have never felt that I completely repaid those who sweated in a kitchen and put food on the table for me. When I met Dimitris, my partner, I asked him if he cooked. His answer: Mom did the cooking (and he was still living next door to her). We’re trying, my friends. We’ll have to take you out to eat, but please don’t stop cooking those wonderful home-cooked meals and inviting us over to eat.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Your Turn

  1. Stefano says:

    … Hi Thom, mybe you meant to write spaghetti with Pesto!!! or am I wrong??

Leave a Reply

