“She” Is Sick?

When I got up that morning, I knew I had to “june” around as I had an appointment to have a CT scan at 8:30. I had been told to arrive early, which I did. At 9:00, I questioned the amount of time it was taking, as I was the only one in the waiting room, and I was told that I would be taken soon. Sure enough, before long I was moved to another waiting room where the imaging was to occur. As I sat there, I heard someone in the background say, “She’s going to be all right now. Don’t worry.” My anxiety level rose as I imagined some poor soul having had a heart attack during a scan. However, my fears were allayed when Brenda, the nurse, took me in and acknowledged that she had been talking, not to a patient, but about the CT scan machine itself. It was the machine (she) that had been “ill.” I was then told to undress, leaving on my underpants but putting on a medical gown which was to be left open in front. Why in the world did I wear these skimpy underpants today? Well, I had no idea that I would be required to undress. That’s why. So, I was stuck with my skimpy jockeys on my rotund 69 year old body. When I apologized to Brenda, she said she hadn’t looked anyhow. The scan was successful, but I felt that “she” may be on her last leg as one swoop into the machine didn’t take. Of course, too, in the middle of the scan, I felt as though I were choking to death as my sinuses always kick in during tension. Then I would hear Brenda say, “Don’t worry. I think he’s going to be all right now.” It was just another day of challenges inspired by growing old.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “She” Is Sick?

Leave a Reply

