Subtitles

The last movie I saw at a theater was “Avatar.” I saw that one in a theater after being coerced by friends to see it in 3-D. I was shocked at the cost, having shied away from theaters for such a long time. I had a pass that would have reduced the cost, but “Avatar” was a special and, since it was in 3-D, the coupon couldn’t apply. Yes, cost is a factor, but the main reason I don’t go to the movies is that there are no subtitle options. At home, I turn on the subtitles with almost all movies regardless of what the primary language is. I have found that I “hear” more when I can see the words. By the way, I hardly ever miss a “good” movie as I watch everything on DVD as I don’t mind waiting. I reserve the DVD’s at the public library and wait for my time in the queue to arrive. Presently on my list are “Philomena,” “The Wolf of Wall Street,” “The Book Thief,” “12 Years a Slave,” and “August: Osage County.” Yeah, I know–you’ve already seen all of those movies.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Subtitles

  1. Patricia Norman Huffstetler says:

    Hi Thom. With my hearing impairment, I depend on subtitles. With my so in the next room watching what he likes, it’s really easy for me to “read” my shows and not disturb him. Thank goodness for subtitles. Patricia

Leave a Reply

