The Lubber and the Frangipani

As my partner and I rounded the house coming from the car port in back of the house, I spotted a lubber on the frangipani. Now, if you aren’t familiar with lubbers, they are large leaf- and bulb-eating monsters of the grasshopper family that decimate my flower garden each summer. I have learned that these critters are slow and will allow me to go for a “death” implement without moving their moving away. I don’t like executions, and this time, I was rescued by my partner who promised to deliver the death-blow with a broom. I felt that using a broom might be a little over-kill as I usually cut lubbers in half with the garden clippers, but I let him carry out the decree in whatever manner he wanted. He came inside, bragging of having accomplished the deed. Later, I passed the spot where the lethal blow had taken place and lying on the ground was an 8-inch section of the frangipani limb which had been lost in the “battle.” I have learned that frangipani root easily so picked up the severed branch and stuck it in a planter. Can it be that finally a lubber has done me a favor and given me a beautiful new frangipani plant? I do know that from every negative can come a positive.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

