The Fall and Rise of Dimitris

Last year, before my friend Dimitris came to visit me here in the United States, I bought a plant at a local nursery so as to impress him with the beauty of my home, particularly the front porch. I named this plant Dimitris. The main plant in the hanging basket was a vinca (or periwinkle). It was blooming voluminously when I brought it home, and it continued to do so for months thereafter. There was also a second plant that produced a tiny yellow flower among the bright red vinca blooms. I was amazed at the stamina of this plant and took good care of it, rotating it so that half of the plant got full sun beginning every Friday. However, when I left in January to return to Greece to visit Dimitris, the person, I knew that Dimitris the plant would be on its own to survive. I therefore took it outside and hung it on a branch of a low-hanging tree. One of the first things I checked when I arrived home was Dimitris. It had definitely suffered from sun and drought, but it had survived. However, despite spurts of growth, it finally succumbed and appeared to be done for. A couple of days ago, I glanced over in the corner where Dimitris had thrived overhead. There, in a small planter, was a new vinca plant that had just bloomed. It was the resurrected Dimitris, same color, same vibrant bloom. Evidently a seed had dropped down and is now producing Dimitris II.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

